Toggle Menu

November’s agenda was quite full, though the meeting itself ran quickly.

Embedded image permalink

Following the November 4th General Elections, the County will have a few new faces.  The County Board recognized each of the exiting members, Melisa Taylor, Jennifer Laesch and Mike Donahue, but gave special and well deserved kudos to retiring Sheriff Pat Perez.  Although Sheriff Perez and I may be of different partisan persuasion, I can honestly say that it has been my pleasure serving with him these past two years.  He is a good man and will be missed.  I wish my former colleagues the very best as they move onto the next chapter of their lives, and look forward to serving the next four years with their successors, Bill Lenert (District 5), Don Ishmael (District 3), John Martin (District 11) and Don Kramer (Sheriff).

This month the Board approved 22 separate tax levies, for an aggregate flat levy.  I would like to thank our fellow elected officials in helping us hold the line on taxes yet again.  This issue has always been a priority to me, and I am very pleased we have been able to keep the levy flat year after year.

The majority of the individual resolutions and ordinances passed through the consent agenda.  The full agenda packet can be found here. It should be noted the County engaged Northern Illinois Municipal Electric Collaborative (NIMEC) to provide consulting for our energy aggregation selection process.  This is a huge step forward in our plans to select a supplier for unincorporated Kane County by the end of the calendar year.

Outside of the consent agenda, the Board approved contracts for the 2015 Group Health, Dental and Vision Plans.  The County is still in the process of trying to negotiate with Blue Cross on a savings matter.  We are not "Going to War" with our insurance provider, merely negotiating a more equitable cost share plan.  We anticipate this to be completed soon with minimal impact on the budget.

December 1st will serve as the swearing in ceremony for new members.  

To view video coverage of the meeting click here.